Council and it’s red tape

I refer to the comments made by in last week’s edition of the Kilmarnock Standard.
I am a firm believer in the work the voluntary and public sector carry out across communities and that is why I have been taking part in litter picks across East Ayrshire over the past number of years and why I will continue to volunteer my time to help the local community.

When I wrote to the Council asking how local community members including myself could help clean up graffiti in our parks the response was that members of the public were not allowed to carry out this work on health and safety grounds.

Should the position have changed I will be more than happy to go out and clean up this mess, and I hope many others including you would join me to help our local community.
The Big Society concept is a fantastic one and it was great to be part of that on Sunday when local communities took part in their local spring clean.

Posted on April 1, 2012, in News. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

